Physics Unit

Physics is a branch of science that deals with the behaviour of matter in relation to energy.Some of its branches are:

  • Electricity
  • Heat
  • Mechanics
  • Waves
  • Nuclear Physics and others.

In 2007 the Unit won an award for being the best school in Physics in Lagos State. Many National Laurels have been won by the students.

The staff strength in this unit is five graduate teachers and two laboratory assistants.


Chemistry Unit

The Chemistry unit of the College is the heart beat of the Science department. It has always been lucky to have dedicated leadership and hard working members of staff who work as a team in love and service. Presently the unit has seven teaching staff and two non-teaching staff.

The teaching staff are:

  1. Mr. P.M Waziri (HOS)
  2. Mr. R.O Oyekunle
  3. Mrs. S.I Uhuegbu
  4. Mrs. M.A Okuweh
  5. Miss. M.O  Abujade
  6. Miss. O.A Nelson
  7. Mrs. C.A  Ndu-Nduka

The non teaching staff are:

  1. Mrs. T.O Oludare
  2. Mrs. S. Afambu

In the unit, in-depth teaching and coverage of the syllabus is always our focus accompanied with practical demonstrations and exercises of scientific facts.  This is evident in the results produced from external examinations. This has consistently earned awards for the unit during speech days and prize giving ceremonies. To further, encourage students in the study of Chemistry, members of the unit instituted the following yearly awards in 2009 at every Speech day and Prize giving ceremony:

  • Best graduating Student in Chemistry.
  • Best SS2 student in Chemistry.
  • Best SS1 Student in Chemistry.

The unit has also excelled in the area of external competitions. In 2007, Olakanla Abdulkareem represented the College at various levels of the National Chemistry Olympiad and made it to the National finals.

In 2009. Abel Imoleayo emerged 1ST in Lagos State, at the Annual Awokoya Memorial Chemistry Competition and went on to the National finals where he emerged 5th.  Eleanya Chukwuemeka also represented the College in the 2010 National Chemistry Olympiad. He was successful both at the state and zonal levels.